M337 ELEMENTARY DIFFERENTIAL EQUATIONS

SYLLABUS

POLICIES

ASSIGNMENTS


      M337 ODE's / Assignments


No.
Topic
Section/Problems
Due Date: 12:30PM on each day
( No late homework )
HOMEWORK: ALL homework problems that involve visualization, i.e., time-series, vector fields, etc., must be computer-generated.
Attendance: The instructor reserves the right to record class attendance and use it as part of the final grade. If lateness becomes a common problem, admission into the classroom may be refused.
Academic Integrity
All work that you complete in this class should be your own. In particular, exams, homework, and quizzes, are considered individual work. Copying someone else work is considered cheating and will be penalized. Any form of cheating will result in an "F" and a referral to the Dean for further action.
1.
Ch. 1. Introduction to Differential Equations 1.1(A): 1, 3, 6, 13(b), 13(c),
1.2(A): 1, 2, 4, 11(c), 14
Wednesday, September 3
2.
Ch. 2. First Order Differential Equations 2.1(A): 1, 5, 10, 15,
2.1(B): 4, 6
2.1(C): 5
2.2(A): 2, 7, 11
2.2(B): 3, 7, 9
Wednesday, September 10
3.
Ch. 2. First Order Differential Equations 2.3(A): 1,
2.3(B): 1, 3,
2.4(A): 3, 15,
2.4(B): 1, 8,
2.5(A) : 2, 3, 7
2.6(A): 1, 7,
2.6(B): 1, 3,

Wednesday, September 17
Quiz 1
Chapter 2
Picture ID is Required
 
Wednesday, September 17
 
Midterm Exam
Chapters 1 and 2 (2.1-2.6)

Monday, September 22
5.
Ch. 3. Numerical Approximation of Solutions 3.1(A): 1, 5, 8, 11,
3.1(B): 3, 4, 6, 9
3.3(A): 1
Wednesday, October 1
Quiz 2
Chapter 3
Picture ID is Required
One calculator is allowed
(No cell phones)
Wednesday, October 1
6.
Ch. 4. Second Order Differential Equations 4.1(A): 1, 4, 7,
4.1(B): 3, 7,
4.3(A): 11, 12, 13,
4.3(B): 1
Wednesday, October 8
7.
Ch. 4. Second Order Differential Equations 4.4(A): 1, 4, 6,
4.4(B): 1, 2,
4.5(A): 1, 6,
4.5(C): 1,
4.6(A): 1, 4,
4.6(B): 2,
4.6(C): 1
Wednesday, October 15

8.
Ch. 4. Second Order Differential Equations
4.7(A): 1, 2, 7
4.7(B): 2, 3, 4
4.7(C): 2, 3,
4.8(A): 1, 2
4.8(B): 1

forced_oscilaltor.m
Wednesday, October 22
9.
Ch. 5. 2D Systems of First-Order Differential Equations 5.2(B): 6, 8
5.3(B): 1, 2, 3, 5
5.4(B): 7
5.5(A): 1, 5
5.5(B): 2
5.6(A): 1, 3, 4
Wednesday, October 29
 
Quiz 3
Chapter 5
Picture ID is Required
 
Monday, November 3
 
Midterm Exam
Chapters 3, 4 and 5


Wednesday, November 5
10.
Ch. 6. Laplace Transforms 6.1(A): 2, 6, 19, 20, 23
6.2(A): 3, 7
6.2(B): 4, 10, 13
Monday, November 17


11.
Ch. 6. Laplace Transforms
6.3(A): 1, 3, 11
6.3(B): 3, 5, 6
6.4(A): 5, 7, 9
6.5(A): 3, 5, 10

Monday, November 24
Quiz 4
Chapter 6
Picture ID is Required
 
Monday, November 24
12. Appendix D. Series Solutions
Wednesday, December 10
       
 
FINAL EXAM
Office Hours
Monday, December 15: 2PM - 3PM
Wednesday, December 17
10:30AM - 12:30PM



Milk Splash